Introduction, Part Two

Read Introduction, Part One

Still grieving for the loss of the nighttime dance party ElecTRONica at Disney’s California Adventure and having been unimpressed by my first taste of its replacement, the Alice in Wonderland-themed Mad T Party, I figured it would be time for me to slow down my visits to the Disneyland Resort again to just a few times a year at most, with no place for music and dancing to keep me motivated to stay and return more often.

But some weeks later I found myself once more walking through the Mad T Party area. Perhaps it was morbid curiosity. Perhaps it was fate. But this time when I passed by the stage and saw the band performing, I looked up and saw… magic.

IMG_0832 sm wm 2

Everything that hadn’t worked the time before – came together now into one Wonderland brew of perfect T.

The Hatter prowled the stage like some wild primal creature – you couldn’t take your eyes off of him. Alice was his equal partner, matching him in energy and excitement and sheer fun and vivacity. And the Dormouse on guitar was a master musician who demanded your attention from the stage. This wasn’t just a group of performers singing songs – this was a BAND. A tight team with amazing chemistry that played with and off of each other beautifully. Plus, I noticed, they were playing some great pop music that was just my style. I was itching to rock out to what they were playing – I couldn’t help myself!

IMG_0730 sm wm 2

Now THIS, THIS I could get into. And I stayed for probably two band sets that night, utterly entranced, bopping along to the music. Perhaps, I thought, perhaps this could succeed ElecTRONica after all. A few weeks later I returned to find the same magic on stage. And again I stayed for the band. And a few weeks later. And again a few weeks later. And I realized I not only wanted to be there for this show – I needed it. This wasn’t my new ElecTRONica – this was my new Videopolis – only this time, I was old enough to make my own decision to stay for as long as I wanted.

And for the first time in my life, I bought an annual pass to the Disneyland Resort. For one reason and one reason only. I needed this place and this Mad T Party band in my life. As often as I could possibly see them. And it would change my life in ways I never expected.

Thanks to my love for this show and these performers, I was exposed and introduced to other amazingly talented people in the park and other shows I grew quickly to love (hello Dappers and News Boys and Royal Theatre denizens!) that I’d been completely unaware of – to the point where I realized that if I could go watch these shows and these performers every week, I’d never need to ride an attraction on any given day I was at the park and that I wouldn’t miss it for an instant because there was SO much else to do and see that I could barely fit it all in!

Thanks to this show, I found a whole group of wonderful people who also go to the parks on a regular basis just for the performers – a subculture of friends and family that grew from this one source. I found somewhere I wanted to go every week. And best of all, I found my place to dance.

IMG_1262 sm wm

I also found some things need another perspective before you can decide whether you like them or not!  Fortunately for me, I had that chance with the Mad T Party.

For the past few years I’ve been lucky enough to repeatedly watch some incredibly gifted people who I adore dearly and I want the world, not just the locals, to know how special they are and what joy they bring on a daily basis to so many park guests. So this blog is my celebration of them and of everything else in the Mousertainment world that I love. I don’t think it’s thank you enough for what they’ve added to my life. But maybe it’s a start. 🙂

Leave a Reply

