Mousertainment Movies: What Was Worth Watching in 2014?

Today I’d like to take a quick look back at the films of 2014. Here is where we go both on and off property as the majority of films in a given year that I tend to want to see generally are Disney. Or Marvel. But there were a few non-Disney films that got my attention as well.

One caveat I should mention – I think very few movies are worth going out to the theater to see anymore – between half an hour of commercials, people talking and texting during a film, and children crying or running around, I find going to the movies these days a generally unpleasant experience. So if I’m going to push through all that and go see a film on the big screen rather than just wait to rent it in the comfort of my own home, it had better be something pretty special.

So without further ado, here are the Top 10 films that piqued my curiosity in 2014 – including the few that got me off of my couch to go see them (*):

10) Into the Woods

Reasons I wanted to see it:

  • Stephen Sondheim & James Lapine musical
  • James Corden

Reasons I didn’t go see it:

  • Directed by Chicago’s Rob Marshall 
  • Changes to story/songs
  • May go watch the PBS version with Bernadette Peters instead

9) Big Eyes

Reasons I wanted to see it:

  • Director Tim Burton
  • Amy Adams
  • Story of Margaret Keane

Reasons I didn’t go see it:

  • Waiting for rental 

8) The Imitation Game

Reasons I wanted to see it:

  • Benedict Cumberbatch
  • Story of Alan Turing

Reasons I didn’t go see it:

  • Waiting for rental 

7) Dawn of the Planet of the Apes

Reasons I wanted to see it:

  • Longtime fan of the Apes universe (however, the ending of the Tim Burton film never happened)
  • Andy Serkis
  • Continuation of Rise of the Planet of the Apes storyline

Reasons I didn’t go see it:

  • Waiting for rental 

6) Maleficent

Reasons I wanted to see it:

  • Angelina Jolie as Maleficent
  • Curious about Maleficent backstory
  • Disney

Reasons I didn’t go see it:

  • Linda Woolverton script
  • Heard about Maleficent backstory
  • Feel obligated to try to watch at some point, though no obligation to try to finish

5) X-Men: Days of Future Past

Reasons I wanted to see it:

  • Continuation of X-Men: First Class storyline 
  • Both casts
  • Continuation of earlier X-Men films storyline
  • Seeing this comics storyline on film

Reasons I didn’t go see it:

  • Waiting for rental 

4) The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies

Reasons I wanted to see it:

  • J.R.R. Tolkien
  • Peter Jackson’s Lord of the Rings trilogy still has goodwill
  • Cast

Reasons I didn’t go see it:

  • The first two Hobbit films were a disappointment
  • Waiting for rental

3) Big Hero 6 (with animated short Feast)*

Reasons I wanted to see it:

  • Disney animated film
  • Baymax
  • Feast

Reasons to go see it:

  • Feast 
  • Baymax, Tadashi and GoGo 
  • Great film to watch once, may be too sad to rewatch

2) Guardians of the Galaxy*

Reasons I wanted to see it:

  • Continuation of MCU storyline
  • Chris Pratt & Director James Gunn
  • Vin Diesel voicing a character (see: Iron Giant.  No, really, see Iron Giant.)
  • High hopes the humor would work

Reasons to go see it:

  • It’s Star Wars for a new generation – minus most of the cool merchandising
  • Dave Bautista as Drax
  • I have three words for you (highlight text ahead to see SPOILERS):  Dancing. Baby. Groot.

1) Captain America: The Winter Soldier*

Reasons I wanted to see it:

  • Sebastian Stan
  • It’s Cap.
  • Continuation of Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) storyline
  • Seeing this comics storyline on film

Reasons to go see it:

  • Sebastian Stan!
  • It’s Cap.
  • Falcon!
  • Frank Grillo as Crossbones 

In two weeks, Mousertainment Movies will take a look at the year ahead in film.

Leave a Reply

