Performer Spotlight: Dapper Jon @ The Dapper Dans of Disneyland

“Sweet dreams till sunbeams find you…”

Something you will quickly learn about me when it comes to performers who catch my attention: I always love the peacocks – the ones who own any stage they are on and know it. I simply cannot resist a talented person who steps onstage and proclaims, “You must watch me.” Oh yes. I most certainly will.

But because of that innate instinct – and weakness – it means I can miss some seriously quality performers because I’ve overlooked them in favor of the one who is bolder and louder. Fortunately, I have a good friend with excellent taste in finding the quiet performers who are worth a second look, when I’ve somehow foolishly missed the first look. And often I find she is not only right in who she picks, but by her pointing them out I become a more appreciative fan of these ones who are deeper, quieter, not so obvious, but are equally incredibly special.

So here is one.

“We would like to take a moment to introduce ourselves…”

“We would like to take a moment to introduce ourselves…”

He is easy to overlook. He doesn’t showboat. But Dapper Jon has a quiet, subtle humor in his performance and presentation that once noticed will always provoke laughter. I think his dry humor can make me laugh easier than anyone at the park. He’s the definition of “beware the quiet ones”.

The song that I think of most as Jon’s is one that the Dapper Dans rarely sing but it thrills me to no end when once in a blue moon they might take a special request for it: “Dream a Little Dream of Me”. It’s one of my favorite songs in general and is truly lovely when Jon and the rest of the Dapper Dans sing it.

Leading in purple!

Leading in purple!

Although he often sings lead (though almost as commonly can be found singing baritone – and he sings both equally well), he more often interprets the lead role in its other title – harmony – as he has one of the most gently beautiful voices of any of the Dapper Dans. And when he harmonizes with some of the other singers, it’s just… perfect. But since he never takes himself seriously, even a beautiful song will often end with a laugh.

Baritone in blue!

Baritone in blue!

And this is what makes Jon someone really worth giving proper regard – harmony and humor. And to think, I might never have noticed him – hiding in plain sight.

Is he your favorite performer?

2 thoughts on “Performer Spotlight: Dapper Jon @ The Dapper Dans of Disneyland

Leave a Reply

