Dinner Shows Spotlight: Hoop-Dee-Doo Musical Revue and Mickey’s Backyard BBQ

While I generally prefer to write about things I have done and places and people and things I’ve seen, today I’m going to talk a little bit about a couple of places I haven’t been yet but would like to!

Just like at the Big Thunder Ranch Barbecue at Frontierland in Disneyland, I love the chance to combine a great meal with great entertainment! And in keeping with the western and barbecue theme, there are two non-park meal experiences at the Walt Disney World Resort that are definitely on my “Disney Do” list of places I want to go!

First is the Hoop-Dee-Doo Musical Revue at Disney’s Fort Wilderness Resort & Campground! This sounds like it’s a cross between a bigger version of the Big Thunder Ranch Barbecue show mixed with some of the teasing-the-audience humor of the former Golden Horseshoe Revue!

I understand that if you really want (or at least don’t mind) to participate in the show, you should sit down amongst the main floor seating. Whereas if you prefer to just watch and not risk being asked to join in the fun, you’re better off with the upstairs seating in the balcony. Either way, you’ll get big all-you-can-eat helpings of a menu very similar to that at the Big Thunder Ranch Barbecue: chicken and ribs, baked beans, cornbread and more.

And while seeing this show as I’m filling my tummy is definitely something I’d like to try, another western dinner option that includes some Disney characters is on my radar too – that would be Mickey’s Backyard BBQ at The Campsites at Disney’s Fort Wilderness Resort!

I can’t resist line dancing to a live country band – and at Mickey’s Backyard BBQ, I might be joined by Mickey Mouse or his friends Minnie Mouse, Goofy or Chip ‘n Dale! And in between I can chow down on the grub – along with chicken and ribs, this kid-friendly location also serves hamburgers and hot dogs, corn on the cob, macaroni & cheese and more.

Although it’s always difficult to fit in enough time to visit all the restaurants I already love at the Walt Disney World Resort, I really hope to make time on a future trip to visit one or both of these fun food and entertainment options!

Have you been to either the Hoop-Dee-Doo Musical Revue or Mickey’s Backyard BBQ? Would you recommend one or both?

Leave a Reply

