Performer Spotlight: Robert @ Main Street Ragtime Piano

“I love the piano! I love the piano! I love to hear somebody play…”

Ragtime Robert at the piano – and look, it’s Mary Poppins and Bert in the background! I just love this picture!

Ragtime Robert at the piano – and look, it’s Mary Poppins and Bert in the background! I just love this picture!

Seeing Robert at the Ragtime Piano at Disneyland always adds joy to my day.  If I spy his name on the sign, I always try to make it a point to stop by at least once for my fix of hearing him play a wide range of songs, seeing his incredibly talented hands flying over the ivories, and just chatting with this engaging, jovial man.

IMG_9341 sm wm

He is so wonderful to watch and to listen to – I always get caught up simply staring at his finger gymnastics on the piano. The skill and the artistry of his playing is undeniable and SO much fun to observe!

His sense of comedic timing is really terrific too – I love to stop by for the Dapper Dans set here when he’s at the piano. Nobody gets the laughs for “Ragtime Joe” like Robert does – he just plays out the jokes so well!

Hiya Robert!

Hiya Robert!

While you could just enjoy sitting and listening to him play, I highly recommend pulling up a chair or simply standing next to him to watch his hands move. It’s like a dance with his wrists and fingers that is truly delightful to behold.

He always reminds me why I love a piano…

Is he your favorite performer?

Leave a Reply

