Restaurant Spotlight: Supercalifragilistic Breakfast at 1900 Park Fare

It’s true that Goofy’s Kitchen at the Disneyland Hotel might get a slight edge as my favorite Disney breakfast *buffet* just for that amazing peanut butter & jelly pizza I’ve raved about previously. But by far my favorite character breakfast would have to be the Supercalifragilistic Breakfast at 1900 Park Fare in Disney’s Grand Floridian Resort & Spa at the Walt Disney World Resort because its regular guests include Alice and The Mad Hatter!

Alice pays a visit at the Supercalifragilistic Breakfast!

Alice pays a visit at the Supercalifragilistic Breakfast!

But since there’s more to this experience than just seeing Alice and The Mad Hatter (wait, what?!) I’m going to break this spotlight down into three categories in the order of importance to me at this character meal:

The Characters

Mary Poppins at her namesake meal!

Mary Poppins at her namesake meal!

While my number one priority reason for coming to this meal is to visit with Alice and The Mad Hatter – and I’ve had wonderful experiences here doing so including one time when Alice actually sat down at my table with me to chat! – there are three other regular characters who usually appear here too…

First is the lady of the hour herself, Mary Poppins! It wouldn’t be a supercalifragilistic breakfast without her, would it?

And then there are two visitors from the Hundred Acre Wood – Winnie the Pooh and Tigger too!

I have had some really delightful interactions here as each character individually stops by your table over the course of the mealtime. I have found Pooh and Tigger to be especially attentive and playful, as well as having some great conversations with Alice and Mary Poppins. The Mad Hatter is generally a bit too mad to truly converse with, of course!

I love that not only are these all British characters – as I’m quite an Anglophile – but they are all characters from classic children’s literature, too!

And while these characters can also be found at other locations in the parks, they’re not quite as ubiquitous as the Fab Five character groupings at Goofy’s Kitchen at the Disneyland Resort or Chef Mickey’s at Disney’s Contemporary Resort at the Walt Disney World Resort. I like a different mix of characters – and for me, this is a really nice mix!

The Food

There are so many options and I never have room for all of them - though I try!

There are so many food options and I never have room for all of them – though I try!

While the PB&J pizza at Goofy’s does give it that slight edge, I still LOVE this buffet! The selections are varied, plentiful, fresh and tasty! They include everything you’d expect from a breakfast selection (eggs, bacon, French toast, pancakes, omelettes, fruit, etc.) as well as absolute requirements at a Disney breakfast (Mickey Mouse waffles!).

Not only is this my favorite breakfast at the Walt Disney World Resort – it’s one of my favorite meals there overall!

The Service

A view towards part of the buffet area. The staff here is very helpful!

A view towards part of the buffet area. The staff here is very helpful!

While I’ve found the seating hosts pleasant, the actual wait service at the restaurant isn’t necessarily the best here. Because it is a “self-serve” buffet, really, the wait staff is only here to bus the table, bring you drinks (such as juice or coffee) and your check. But I’ve found they are kept so busy that it’s hard to get a drink refill in any timely fashion. Nor is it easy to find a cast member to help with photo ops, so I wind up often with selfies with characters (which are amusing but not the best pictures) or fuzzy pictures because the cast are in a hurry to move on or relying on the kindness of guests at neighboring tables to help out trying to get a photo with the characters. This is a repeated frustration here, but certainly not enough to keep me away. And the staff of the buffet area by contrast is very attentive and responsive, so if you have dietary preferences or needs, be sure to ask if they can help accommodate you!

This character meal is always a must-do for me – both for the characters and for the yummy food!

Mousertainment Tip: A breakfast buffet is a great, energizing way to start your day at a Disney Resort. However, it can fill you up for most of the day, so I suggest NOT planning a big dinner on the same day with a breakfast buffet!

Have you enjoyed the Supercalifragilistic Breakfast at 1900 Park Fare? What was your favorite part of the experience?

Leave a Reply

