Mousertainment Movies: What’s Worth Watching in 2016?

Today, it’s time to look ahead to the many great films coming out in 2016!

While I’m going to focus here on the top ten I most want to see in theaters (although time will tell if I wind up making the effort!), at the end I’ll add a few more that I’m more likely to catch when they get to home entertainment rental/on demand!

Without further ado:

10) Finding Dory

Reasons I want to see it:

  • Pixar
  • Ellen Degeneres as Dory

9) Zootopia

Reasons I want to see it:

  • Disney animation
  • Ginnifer Goodwin as Judy Hopps
  • Humor looks cute

8) Gambit

Reasons I want to see it:

  • Continuation of X-Men Universe storyline
  • Channing Tatum reportedly really wanted the role – let’s see what he does with it!

7) X-Men: Apocalypse

Reasons I want to see it:

  • Continuation of X-Men Universe storyline
  • Finally getting to see a proper-looking Professor X in the prequel timeline!
  • Michael Fassbender and James McAvoy

6) Moana

Reasons I want to see it:

  • Disney animation
  • Dwayne Johnson as Maui
  • But let’s not forget Lilo & Stitch did a Hawaiian-set film first!

5) Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them    

Reason I want to see it:

  • Continuation of Harry Potter Universe storyline

4) Doctor Strange

Reasons I want to see it:

  • Continuation of Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) storyline
  • Benedict Cumberbatch as Doctor Strange
  • To see how the introduction of magic into a more sci-fi universe works

3) Alice Through the Looking Glass

Reasons I want to see it:

  • Wonderland
  • Hoping for a better script than the first film
  • Want to have another adventure with these characters

2) Rogue One

Reasons I want to see it:

  • Continuation of Star Wars Universe storyline
  • The Force Awakens was so good, I’m actually excited about Star Wars again

1) Captain America: Civil War

Reasons I want to see it:

  • Continuation of MCU storyline
  • Continuation of Captain America storyline
  • Bucky Barnes
  • Falcon
  • Introduction of new characters SPOILERS (highlight the text ahead to reveal them): Spiderman and Black Panther
  • Looks like a better sequel to Avengers than Age of Ultron

Yes, I’m as shocked as anyone that Alice Through the Looking Glass is not my most-wanted to see for 2016! However, big love for both the Marvel MCU and Star Wars Universe edged her out of the top spot this year. But I am still looking forward to seeing the film opening weekend and likely more than once!

Altogether, this does look like a big movie year for me. There are plenty I not only hope to see in theaters, but I also am keeping on eye on a few more that I probably will check out as rental/on demand including:

Deadpool – Yet another continuation of the X-Men universe

The Legend of Tarzan – For Alexander Skarsgard – although I actually might have preferred him as the villain rather than as the hero!

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiars – Director Tim Burton making a film based on a book I want to read

Do you plan to see a lot of movies in 2016?

Leave a Reply

