One Year of Mousertainment

It’s amazing to me to think that a year ago I decided to start this blog and see if I could write at least four articles in one week. And then I thought I’d see if I could keep it up for a month. And then a few more…

And today we come to the close of the first YEAR of Mousertainment – a celebration of all things entertainment, but especially Disney, and in particular the amazing shows and performers at the Disney Parks.  And during that time, shows have opened, shows have closed, and I’ve written over 200 articles.

The final performance on the final day of Disney's Aladdin - A Musical Spectacular.

FastPass for the final performance on the final day of Disney’s Aladdin – A Musical Spectacular.

The final performance of Fantasmic! until at least 2017.

FastPass for the final performance of Fantasmic! at Disneyland Park until at least 2017.

When I first started out, I had two dozen pages of notes/ideas/theme weeks and several thousand park photos to sort through (okay, yes, the majority of those were pictures of The Mad T Party and The Dapper Dans, but still…)

I have spent a year sharing so many of the people and places that I love and that have given me so much joy over the past several years. And there is still more to come!

There are people I still want to spotlight, shows I want to review, and the parks are constantly changing – sometimes for the better, sometimes for the worse – and adding new shows and hiring new talent that I am lucky enough to get to go see.

But for today, I’d like to take a moment and thank everyone who has stopped by to check out my blog – and maybe even decided to stay for a while. I put this together as a labor of love and as a small way to thank and recognize the talented people who add so much to my life on a regular basis. It was a surprise and a pleasure to find that anyone else might be interested in reading it, too. So my thanks to each of you!

Looking ahead to the future, there are some changes brewing. As I mentioned, when I started this blog, I had a lot of ideas and so very many people and shows I wanted to cover. I had to write at least four entries per week just to feature the majority of them! Plus I had a lot of fun coming up with themed weeks for topics of discussion!

But for the new year, I’m going to pull it back to 2-3 entries per week, likely posted on the weekends. There are still many shows and performers and movies and munchies and merchandise and more to discuss. But having achieved that original plan I laid out for the first year, it’s unknown territory from hereon out! I’m not really sure what or who I’ll be writing about each week until I do it – although I still have a list of more topics to present and people to spotlight!

And I’m hoping to expand my horizons every now and again this year – I’d like to visit Universal Studios Hollywood again for the first time in ages once the new Wizarding World of Harry Potter opens, as I know there will be entertainment there I will want to share some thoughts about, too!

I was also hoping for the chance to get back to the Walt Disney World Resort this year, but it’s looking like that might get pushed back to next year. Still, there are a few more shows there I’d like to cover that will be featured in the upcoming months.

As we come to the close of one year and begin another, I would like to invite you to check out the link at the top of the page if you have not already done so:

The Oraculum – All Articles Archive

This will take you to a list of links to every feature I’ve written in the past year. Perhaps you’ll find some of interest that you missed seeing before!

But as Walt Disney said:

“Around here, however, we don’t look backwards for very long. We keep moving forward, opening up new doors and doing new things, because we’re curious…and curiosity keeps leading us down new paths.”

Curiouser and curiouser… let us see what the future brings…

Thank you for reading! Onward to Year Two!

Leave a Reply

