Mousertainment’s Favorite Bands: LIGHTS – The Premiere Tribute to Journey

“I’m forever yours… faithfully…”

LIGHTS in concert!

LIGHTS in concert!

It was at the Disney Parks and Resorts that I really started to fall in love with cover bands.  Whether I was at Disneyland or Disney California Adventure or Downtown Disney or at EPCOT at the Walt Disney World Resort, my own musical world was opened up by seeing these groups perform.

So it’s probably no surprise that with so many cutbacks in entertainment happening at the parks and resorts lately, I’ve started to go to outside locations more often to see some of my favorite local cover and tribute bands. And since several were discovered thanks to performers at the parks, I thought I’d share a few of them with you!

Today we’ll start with a band that I’m a major fan of: LIGHTS – The Premiere Tribute to Journey.

Mousertainment Memo: Just to distinguish – a cover band plays songs from many different groups, whereas a tribute band usually just plays music from the one group they’re dedicated to honoring.  Either way, you can find some great music being played!

I started following this group regularly about three years ago and they have rocked my world ever since!

They play a lot around the Southern California area – I’ve seen them everywhere from Calabasas to Chino to San Dimas – but they also have a lot of regular dates in Las Vegas and Laughlin, Nevada.

They can handle everything from smaller club gigs to larger stage performances with lights and video screen backgrounds…

Screen Shot 1 sm wm

Like many tribute bands, they can also be found on the summer concerts in the park circuit.

Now, when going to see a tribute band play, you really want to experience a few things:

First of all – do they sound like the band they’re paying tribute to?

IMG_7008 sm wm

The answer with LIGHTS is a loud and clear YES! The lead singer sounds so much like Steve Perry, it’s ridiculous. This guy was BORN to sing this music. Okay, he was just born to sing! His vocals literally send chills down my spine every single time I hear him. Sometimes I have to just close my eyes and listen – as his runs and the notes he can hold are breathtaking! What an amazingly talented guy he is!

And the lead guitar player is awesome, too. I just love watching him tear it up – and happily he gets plenty of well-deserved solos! I also really enjoy the hearing the bassist, keyboard/rhythm guitar player and the drummer – the whole band is just so good together!

Screen Shot 2 sm wm

Second – do they play all the hits?

Of course! You will hear every popular Journey song that you know and love – and will be encouraged to sing along – at any LIGHTS show.

And third – for the serious fans of the original band’s music, do they go a little deeper into the catalog and play some good songs that the average listener might not know?

Yes! I’ve fallen in love with several Journey songs that I didn’t know about until I heard them sung by LIGHTS.

IMG_7009 sm wm

I’ll admit that I long ago reached the point where I’d rather see some of my favorite tribute bands than even the originals themselves in concert – and LIGHTS is a prime example!

They bring the music of Journey to new heights whenever they play and I can’t wait to see them perform again soon! (Yes, even though I just went to watch them this weekend, I plan to see them several more times this summer!)

Have you seen LIGHTS in concert? Do you enjoy watching tribute/cover bands or do you stick to the original artists only?

Update 10/12/16: Check out some of this band’s performances here on the Mousertainment YouTube Channel

Leave a Reply

