Mousertainment Miscellanea – Support Local Live Music, Theater and Dance

In the past five years, I have been exposed to more singers, dancers and musicians than ever before. And my life is incredibly richer for it! But live music has always been around me…

From a very young age, I was brought to concerts and theater to be introduced to the experience of watching skilled performers ply their craft live on stage. It no doubt instilled in me an intense love of music and theater as a result. I was blessed to be able to attend shows with recognizable names, and will always carry a passion for those shows or performers in particular. I was also fortunate enough to meet many of these talented folks thanks to help or happenstance.

But not everyone has that opportunity. And these days, as much as I admire popular performers from Bruno Mars to Beyonce, I have neither the finances nor really the drive to see them live in concert. Because I’m lucky to have the locals…

As I’ve discussed in some of the features I’ve written about various of my favorite bands that I love to go see locally – and repeatedly – there are an embarrassment of riches to be found everywhere from your nearby pub or coffeehouse to small theater or concert venue!

I particularly cannot express my appreciation enough to the Disney Parks for providing a platform for live entertainment – both in the performers it hires for its shows as well as the bands who are invited to play on property. While I still wish there was more to be found there currently, in large part, this is where my love of local talent was born and nurtured and now I cannot imagine my life without it.

If you live in proximity to a Disney Resort, I hope you’re taking advantage of all of the entertainment they have to offer – from the parks to the resort hotels to the shopping districts. Happily, there’s always somebody performing at these places!

For example, if I was in Orlando right now, you would definitely find me checking out The Great Irish Hooley at Raglan Road in Disney Springs. This annual event includes terrific Irish music and dancing all weekend long! But since I’m not there, I think I’ll head on over to Tomorrowland Terrace at Disneyland instead to enjoy a live band while they’re still playing this month!

However, most people don’t live near a Disney park or a major theater or concert hall. Which is why it’s so important to go out and support the arts wherever they are in your own town – or those nearby.

Do yourself a favor and check out the resident community theater the next time they post a performance schedule. Or stop and listen to that guy or gal with a guitar strumming along while you’re sipping your coffee or waiting for the public transit. Does your local college put on a dance exhibition? Go check it out! You may be amazed by the talent you can find simply everywhere if you just look for it!

It’s easy to listen to the radio (or Spotify or iTunes or wherever you get your music) and think, “well, I can’t afford a $300 concert ticket to go see that person”. I can’t either! But I can come up with $15 to go hear a band here and there. Or if even that is too much – I can go to a free concert in the park. Or a recital at a public library.

Somewhere, near you, someone is performing. Go support them and go treat yourself by attending their show. There is no such thing as “too much music”, “too much dance” or “too much theater”. But there is definitely such a thing as not enough!  And the only way to help the arts survive on a local level is if we value them and each make an effort to help sustain them wherever we find them!

Do you support local performers in your community? Where are some of your favorite places to go catch live performances?

Leave a Reply

