The Time Has Come – A Farewell to T, Part Two

“Our time is running out…”

One of my last pictures at the end of the final night of the Diamond Mad T Party.

One of my last pictures from the end of the final night of the Diamond Mad T Party.

Yes, you will feel like you stepped through the looking glass as we take one more farewell look back at some of the amazing performers from The Mad T Party, whose stage has now gone the way of all things park-past…

Today we’ll turn a spotlight on:

Mad Hatter:

Hatter singing his face off – and ours, too – while Dormouse peeks around from the side!

Hatter singing his face off – and ours, too – while Dormouse peeks around from the side!

This guy brought me to tears with the beauty of his farewell speeches both at the end of the run of the original Mad T Party as well as the Diamond Mad T Party. Somehow he managed to captured the emotions, the gravity and the beauty of the experience and express it so eloquently to the fans both new and old. And I’ll never forget those moments.

But what I remember most about him on the Mad T stage was not his singing and hosting talent (which he had in abundance), so much as the incredible generosity of spirit he had towards his co-host Alice. He was always beyond gracious and encouraging letting her take the spotlight and show what she could do, and it is a rare kind of class and selflessness in a lead performer to give someone else the space to shine. He repeatedly impressed me with his positive, respectful, and supportive treatment of his fellow cast. Kudos.

Alice:

img_3123-cr-wm

This girl was just a tiny bundle of adorable whenever she took the stage! From her high lilting singing voice to her cute bouncy nature, I was always reminded of a little chipmunk when she performed – but in the most endearing way! Sweet and perky, she was always a happy sight to see at T.

Caterpillar:

The Caterpillar Emperor uses the Force against the Wonderland Rebels!

The Caterpillar Emperor uses the Force against the Wonderland Rebels!

This guy from the beginning was the sage of the stage. The wise statesman who most seemed like his film counterpart, Absolem. He was very reserved for the longest time, choosing to observe and simply play the music rather than frolicking with his bandmates. Yet, you always sensed the greatest respect from them for him.

But personally, I was so happy to see in the later years of the show that while this silver Caterpillar may not have quite sprouted his butterfly wings, he eventually relaxed his mien a bit and let loose enough to play with the rest of the folks on stage. And it turns out he is really, really funny when he wants to be! I loved his interactions during the song “Spiderwebs” in particular, when he got to be possessive of Alice vs. the other guys in the band. But probably the most memorable moment was on a particular Star Wars Day in the park, when he got to play “Emperor” and use the Force against other members of the band during an especially entertaining version of “Pour Some Sugar on Me”!

Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dum:

No, I don’t know what that posing was about either. But it made us laugh!

No, I don’t know what that posing was about either. But it made us laugh!

Say, brother? Yes, brother?

I’m not sure I’ve seen any team work together as well as these two did. Sometimes, you just find the right chemistry between two people and the comedy just flows effortlessly. And that’s what Tweedle Dum and Tweedle Dee had with each other. Their rhythm, their playfulness and their comfort together on stage made them simply a perfect match. They were charming and silly and a joy to watch and listen to. A twisted, terrific Tweedle team!

Mousertainment Memorandum: If I can round up pictures of some of the dancers I didn’t get the chance to feature previously, I will add them here in the future. But until then – to our crazy talented Hottest Deck in Town and Most Dazzling Deck in Town teams – you rocked our worlds and T would never have been the same without you!

This site was born from my love of The Mad T Party and all the shows and performers it introduced me to across the Disneyland Resort. It changed my life in ways I’m still discovering and there will never be anything quite like it again. I cannot begin to thank all of the people involved in bringing this mad wonderful show to life. But with this site and its various features, I hope I’ve gotten to acknowledge a lot of them – individually and collectively. I will never forget this unique and special time and place in my life and I hope I continue to have the pleasure to enjoy performances from so many of these beautiful people in the years to come!

“Oh when I look back now
That summer seemed to last forever
And if I had the choice
Yeah – I’d always wanna be there
Those were the best days of my life…”

The Hatter’s scarf left behind on the mic stand – one final remembrance of the good times we had together at The Mad T Party.

The Hatter’s scarf left behind on the mic stand – one final remembrance of the good times we had together at The Mad T Party.

Did you ever get to spend an Unbirthday with The Mad T Party? What is your favorite memory there? And were any of the folks spotlighted today your favorite?

Leave a Reply

