Cast Members Making Magic – Water Paintings

I first saw these wonderful creations at the Walt Disney World Resort, where custodial Cast Members would use water to animate Disney characters along the walkways of the Resort.

It wasn’t until last year around the holiday time that I finally saw Cast Members at the Disneyland Resort had learned the same skills!

One night I was walking around Paradise Pier in Disney California Adventure when I came across these!

Minnie Loves Mickey!

Minnie Loves Mickey!

They can be easy to miss seeing – especially if you’re not looking for them – and many guests simply walked right across these beautiful pieces of art!

Yes, Cheshire Cat WAS the one I spied first. Wonderland radar. I can’t help it!

Yes, Cheshire Cat WAS the one I spied first. Wonderland radar. I can’t help it!

And though they can be challenging to see (and photograph!), I was thrilled to finally spot some at the Disneyland Resort!

Sulley from Monsters Inc.!

Sulley from Monsters Inc.!

That said, while admittedly I haven’t looked too regularly for more, I hadn’t seen any more since then either. But in the oddest bit of serendipity, two weeks ago I was again walking around Paradise Pier at night and thinking to myself, “what a shame they haven’t done more of the water paintings – I loved seeing those!” When what should I come across not two minutes later???

A custodial Cast Member creates a Nightmare Before Christmas Sally water painting!

A custodial Cast Member creates a Nightmare Before Christmas Sally water painting!

I stopped to watch the paintings being made this time – it was such a perfect sight to see Disney characters created at a Disney park!

What was particularly interesting to me was to see how much creating these water paintings was like creating a drawing at the Animation Academy! I actually had taken the Sally class there not long before this night and I followed along as she was “drawn” in very much the same way (lines and curves) that I was taught to draw her in the class!

This was the end result:

Jack Loves Sally!

Jack Loves Sally!

I then went scouting around the area to see if I could find any others and found this one, too:

Oswald the Lucky Rabbit!

Oswald the Lucky Rabbit!

I do hope they keep up this practice as it adds a little extra Disney magic to a day at the park – thanks to some very talented custodial Cast Members!

So the next time you’re in the parks and you’re busy looking around and above you – don’t forget to look down, too, as you never know what you may see!

Have you observed any water paintings in the parks done by Cast Members? Which characters did they draw?

Leave a Reply

