Mousertainment Movies: What Was Worth Watching in 2016?

Today I will look back to my predictions at this time last year to see if I guessed correctly as to what films were worth watching and therefore brought me out to see them in theaters in 2016 (marked with an *) and which films I opted to wait to see as home entertainment releases.

Below were my picks in January 2016 in their original order of my interest in seeing them. At the end of the feature, I’ll put them in the order in which I actually liked them best!

Here was what I was looking forward to a year ago:

10) Finding Dory *

Reasons I wanted to see it:

  • Pixar
  • Ellen Degeneres as Dory

Reasons to go see it:

  • Baby Dory
  • Otters and Sea Lions
  • Ellen Degeneres as Dory

9) Zootopia *

Reasons I wanted to see it:

  • Disney animation
  • Ginnifer Goodwin as Judy Hopps
  • Humor looks cute

Reasons to go see it:

  • Flash
  • Probably the most entertaining story of the three Disney and Pixar releases this year
  • Appealing original world and characters

8) Gambit

Reasons I wanted to see it:

  • Continuation of X-Men Universe storyline
  • Channing Tatum reportedly really wanted the role – let’s see what he does with it!

Reasons I didn’t go see it:

  • A few weeks after this list was originally posted, this film was pushed back to a future production date. It has not yet been released.

7) X-Men: Apocalypse

Reasons I wanted to see it:

  • Continuation of X-Men Universe storyline
  • Finally getting to see a proper-looking Professor X in the prequel timeline!
  • Michael Fassbender and James McAvoy

Reasons I didn’t go see it:

  • Waiting for home entertainment release

6) Moana *

Reasons I wanted to see it:

  • Disney animation
  • Dwayne Johnson as Maui
  • But let’s not forget Lilo & Stitch did a Hawaiian-set film first!

Reasons to go see it:

  • Terrific soundtrack
  • Dwayne Johnson as Maui
  • But Lilo & Stitch is still a way better film 

5) Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them    

Reason I wanted to see it:

  • Continuation of Harry Potter Universe storyline

Reasons I didn’t go see it:

  • Waiting for home entertainment release (but REALLY want to see it)

4) Doctor Strange *

Reasons I wanted to see it:

  • Continuation of Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) storyline
  • Benedict Cumberbatch as Doctor Strange
  • To see how the introduction of magic into a more sci-fi universe works

Reasons to go see it:

  • Most pure fun movie of the year – I want to watch it again repeatedly and will buy on Blu-Ray as soon as it is released.
  • Mind-boggling special effects
  • Benedict Cumberbatch’s perfect casting as Doctor Strange
  • Marvel consistently gets the humor right in their films
  • More magic / less superhero (if that’s your preference) but either way a great addition to the MCU storyline

3) Alice Through the Looking Glass *

Reasons I wanted to see it:

  • Wonderland
  • Hoping for a better script than the first film
  • Want to have another adventure with these characters

Reasons to go see it:

  • Great costumes and sets (especially Alice’s marvelous nautical costumes which sadly were not represented in merchandise)
  • Sacha Baron Cohen’s Time who rather charmingly steals every scene he is in
  • Poignantly, it is Alan Rickman’s last film contribution.
  • Pink’s end credits song “Just Like Fire” – one of my favorite songs of the year
  • I did buy this on Blu Ray to have for my collection but waited for a good sale price rather than bought immediately – overall, I was underwhelmed by the film.

2) Rogue One *

Reasons I wanted to see it:

  • Continuation of Star Wars Universe storyline
  • The Force Awakens was so good, I’m excited about Star Wars again

Reasons to go see it:

  • Tied with Doctor Strange for my favorite movie of the year – and probably actually is the best, but was challenging emotionally to watch – I liked it even better than The Force Awakens and plan to buy this on Blu-Ray as soon as it is released.
  • Continuation of the Star Wars Universe storyline – this really was Episode 3.5
  • Great characters and great cast
  • Amazing use of FX to bring back familiar faces

1) Captain America: Civil War *

Reasons I wanted to see it:

  • Continuation of MCU storyline
  • Continuation of Captain America storyline
  • Bucky Barnes
  • Falcon
  • Introduction of new characters
  • Looks like a better sequel to Avengers than Age of Ultron

Reasons to go see it:

  • Continuation of MCU storyline
  • Continuation of Captain America storyline
  • Introduction of new characters was well cast and I’m looking forward to seeing more of them!
  • But felt rather like filler story-wise as did Age of Ultron rather than standing on its own

 

This is how I ultimately ranked the films I saw in 2016 from personal favorite to least interesting for me:

  1. Doctor Strange / Rogue One
  2. Captain America: Civil War
  3. Alice Through the Looking Glass
  4. Zootopia
  5. Moana
  6. Finding Dory

Tomorrow, Mousertainment Movies will take a look ahead at the year in film for 2017.

Leave a Reply

