Mousertainment Movies: What’s Worth Watching in 2017?

Today I look ahead to the films being released in 2017 and make my best guesses as to which ones will be worth watching in theaters (for me at least!), although a few may wait for home entertainment releases.

There are a good amount of big tentpole films that are must-see for me in the coming year, but there are also a few smaller films on my radar as well.

Here is my list in order of how much I’m anticipating seeing them!

10) Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (May 5)

Reasons I want to see it:

  • Drax
  • Baby Groot
  • Kurt Russell as Ego
  • Chris Pratt as Star-Lord
  • Continuation of Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) storyline

9) Cars 3 (Jun 16)

Reasons I want to see it:

  • Pixar
  • Another visit with the wonderful Cars characters
  • Really hoping it’s better than Cars 2

8) Stephen King’s It (Sep 8)

Reasons I want to see it:

  • Love the original source material
  • Love the original mini-series – it’s absolutely perfect and this will have a lot to live up to but I’m strangely rather optimistic about it.
  • Bill Skarsgard as Pennywise – nobody can compare to Tim Curry in his defining take on this role, but it looks like they’re going for a different style here and I am a big fan of all of the Skarsgards – Bill was terrific in the wonderful Netflix series Hemlock Grove. He can definitely do menacing and creepy.

7) Kong: Skull Island (Mar 10)

Reasons I want to see it:

  • Tom Hiddleston
  • I’ve yet to see a King Kong movie I really like but I am intrigued by the concept and origins of the character.
  • I miss the amazing banana-breath audio-animatronic version of King Kong at Universal Studios Hollywood.  Not sure anything digital will ever top anything practical, however.

6) Murder on the Orient Express (Nov 22)

Reasons I want to see it:

  • Director Kenneth Branagh
  • Agatha Christie stories are always fun
  • Stellar cast

5) Spider-Man: Homecoming (Jul 2)

Reasons I want to see it:

  • Bringing Spidey finally and fully into the MCU
  • Tom Holland was delightful in his Civil War introduction and captured the character’s youthful insouciant smart-aleck personality in a way I haven’t seen expressed in the live action versions of the character. But the pretty much perfect first Raimi Spider-Man film will still be hard to top.
  • More Robert Downey Jr. as Tony Stark

4) Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales (May 26)

Reasons I want to see it:

  • Because I still believe in the potential of another truly great Pirates film ala Curse of the Black Pearl
  • Waiting for a return to form for Johnny Depp after his past few films

3) Thor: Ragnarok (Nov 3)

Reasons I want to see it:

  • Tom Hiddleston as Loki
  • Based on the tag scene of another recent Marvel film, I’m REALLY crossing my fingers for a certain pair of favorite actors to finally get to perform together.
  • Continuation of the MCU storyline
  • Continuation of the Thor storyline

2) Star Wars: Episode VIII (Dec 15)

Reasons I want to see it:

  • Can’t wait for the next chapter of the Star Wars Universe to unfold after the terrific Force Awakens and awesome Rogue One!
  • Sadly, the final performance of Carrie Fisher as General Leia

1) Beauty and the Beast (Mar 17)

Reasons I want to see it:

  • You saw the trailer, right?
  • But really, that trailer…
  • And everything about that trailer…
  • And Emma Watson as Belle

Honorable mention – there are a few more films that didn’t quite make the top ten list but I’m still interested in and likely to see at some point:

Blade Runner 2049 (Oct 6) – The chance to see Harrison Ford (again) return to a classic role decades after the original release. I hope it’s good, but I don’t know how optimistic I am that it actually will be good.

The Dark Tower (Jul 28) – I’m a big fan of Idris Elba, but I really, really need to go read these books before I see the film. This is my reminder for myself to do so.

Logan (Mar 3) – Potentially, Hugh Jackman’s last turn as The Wolverine as he acknowledges he’s getting old for the un-aging character’s role. But I still expect a wonderful performance from him and look forward to seeing this latest addition to the X-Men Universe.

Do you expect to see many movies in 2017?

Leave a Reply

