The Best Laid Plans of Mousertainment…

After nearly a year of planning – including early mornings up before dawn to arrange dining and FastPass+ reservations, this week I was all set to head off to Walt Disney World for a wonderful visit… and then Hurricane Irma happened.

Suffice it to say, my long-anticipated trip got canceled and yesterday instead of enjoying all my exciting options at Epcot, I found myself sitting at home staring at a yet-to-be-unpacked suitcase. So what’s a Disney fan to do except head off to the Disneyland Resort and try to do a West Coast version of the day I’d originally envisioned?

Dining

My food plans for the day were set to be all about Canada! I had intended to try out the cheddar cheese soup and pretzel roll at the Canada booth at the Food & Wine Festival and then have dinner at Le Cellier in the Canada pavilion.  So what did I do at the Disneyland Resort instead?

I stopped by the last weekend of the Summer of Heroes event at Disney California Adventure where I found one of the themed specialty donuts called the “Local Favorite”.

It’s Canadian-adjacent. Or related. Or something. Hey, there’s maple in it!

How did this pay homage to my Epcot dining plans? Umm, hello MAPLE-filled donut (with bacon on top – oh yes!)!!!

While I’ll have to give the edge to the apple-pie-filled donut I’d tried earlier in the season, this one was a winner, too. Although I didn’t actually find much filling inside, it still had the awesome taste as if someone had mixed a pancake with a donut. And the bacon bits on top gave just a touch of salt to balance out the sweet. Yum!

Entertainment

High on my priorities list for entertainment at Epcot was to see the glorious Voices of Liberty and listen to their soaring harmonies and classic music selections.

Since that wasn’t an option here, instead I enjoyed a set of the fantastic Dapper Dans of Disneyland!

They were hilarious and melodious as always!

Attractions

I had actually managed to reserve a FastPass+ for my most-anticipated attraction at Epcot – the Frozen Ever After boat ride!

So in honor of that missed opportunity, I boarded the Storybook Land Canal Boats at Disneyland Park.

Not only does this attraction include a miniature Arendelle, complete with Elsa’s ice castle from Frozen, but I was thrilled to get my favorite boat (yes, I do have one, don’t judge) to glide past my favorite part of the attraction – Alice’s village!

Almost like being in the English countryside – or at least the UK pavilion at Epcot!

Character Meet & Greet

The number one character I had wanted to meet while at Epcot was (unsurprisingly) Alice at the UK pavilion.

But while I was at Disneyland Park, I once again ran into the Tweedles, the White Rabbit and the Queen of Hearts roaming through Fantasyland!

Hello, Mr. Rabbit!

The characters were as always a delight to see, especially when wandering into the area in a group – even if they separated to greet guests.

By the end of the day, although I was deeply disappointed that I’d had to cancel a trip I’d looked forward to for so long (and I have no idea when I’ll be able to reschedule it) I was reminded that I am very blessed to be able to go to the Disneyland Resort on a regular basis and have that dose of Disney magic in my life.

Sending West Coast pixie dust to our East Coast counterparts that everyone stays safe and weathers the storm with minimal damage. We’re thinking of you and worrying about you and wishing you the best!

Have you ever had to cancel a dream Disney trip? How did you deal with your disappointment to make your Disney day better?

Leave a Reply

